Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2005

nicksix is on a distinguished road
Safety on Long Passages

I am a beginner with a lot of questions, but this one keeps nagging me. When making a long passage (e.g. 7+ days) a 24 hour watch schedule should be set-up among crew. I am just a beginner, and not considering doing this, but how does one sail single-handed on a long passage when it''s time to go to sleep? Does the person just throw a sea anchor out, hit the anchor lights, and go to sleep? Or, keep cruising with the autopilot and rely on the radar waking them up if a boat or object is picked up?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-04-2005

Sasha_V will become famous soon enough
Safety on Long Passages

There are books, essays and university studies on the answers to this. But the short version is that some people trust their elctronics enough to go to sleep for several hours at a time. Some train their circadian rythms (sleep patterns) to work differently and take to sea being able to catch fifteen minute cat-naps that seem to be as valuable as full deep sleep.
Some seem to have decided that it is safer to sleep during the day when passing ships can see them more easily and thus keep most of their active watch during night-time.
Yet other swear by simply steering well clear of all shipping lanes and having huge chunks of ocean to what they hope is purely themselves.

I guess it is about putting together the many years of experience needed to contemplate a long solo passage seriously and deciding what works best for you, the expected conditions and the area you will be sailing through.