Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2014

barefootnavigator is on a distinguished road
As long as its fun

As a professional writer I read a lot and am more often than not let down. I just got my hands on As long as its fun by Herb McCormick and have to say it just may be the best written book of the decade. Its a biography on the extraordinary life of Lin and Larry Pardey. If you are planning a cruise or just dreaming about it you owe it to yourself to read this book.
http://logofthe.files.wordpress.com/...1/ser-0891.jpg
titustiger27 likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by barefootnavigator; 01-19-2014 at 12:02 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
The Following User Says Thank You to barefootnavigator For This Useful Post:
titustiger27 (01-19-2014)
Old 01-19-2014
arrgh!

titustiger27 is on a distinguished road
Re: As long as its fun

Speaking of writing.. have you ever read John Gierach? he writes about fly fishing.

I think he writes the most interesting essays... and I wonder why no one else writes like that about... say Mountain Biking or Sailing --- two topics I read lot.

His style is so warm and smooth and just flows like the rivers he drops flies into....

I am at a loss that writers can take their favorite topic and not make it so wonderful that even people who don't do the topic love it.....

Does this make sense to you?
barefootnavigator likes this.

Vector X + Y
Old 01-19-2014

barefootnavigator is on a distinguished road

It does and I will have to look him up, maybe I can learn something.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.