Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2005

miyagi is on a distinguished road
certification(s)

I have been sailing for many years on a variety of boats from Opti to my Aloha 27 and crewed on a few bigger boats, even a little offshore experience. I took a intermediate bareboat skipper course recently for fun and to confirm for myself that I am on the right track. I am apparently.

I intend to take some more courses to increase my knowledge and experience etc but there seems to be a few different "Qualifications", Coast Guard captain licenses, ASA offshore course, US Sailing, Yachtmaster training etc etc.

My goal is to be a competent skipper to take myself and my next boat cruising. If I could even make some money skippering for someone else or delivering etc that would be a bonus.....

Ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 12-04-2005

Irwin32 is on a distinguished road
certification(s)

If you are going to ask money to be a skipper for someone else you will need a Coast Guard license, which, from what I understand, is much harder to get than the other certifications you mention. I have an ASA, which has been helpful when chartering in the US, but outside nobody seems to care.

For your own personal cruising I would go with ASA, US sailing, or Power Squadron courses. There is no teacher like short cruises and gradually expanding your horizons. Joining a yacht club with a cruising program is a great way to sail with others who have the experience and you will learn a lot that way.

You have a lot of experience already and are probably better qualified than you realize.
Old 12-05-2005

nolatom will become famous soon enough
certification(s)