SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   USCG 6 Pack License (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/122418-uscg-6-pack-license.html)

ukrsindicat 02-11-2014 01:31 PM

USCG 6 Pack License

Hey guys(non-gender specific)

I am looking for more information how to get a Coast Guard 6 pax license.

I have been sailing since 1999. I have been a deck hand in the Navy 1999-2002. Nowadays, I am weekend sailor on my personal 30 foot sailboat.

I saw that there are home study courses that are about $700 and then I would have to travel to the test location.

I was wondering if I can just download a pdf book online(up to $100) and then take USCG test($90)? Its tough times right now and I would like to save some money.

Thank you for your help

denverd0n 02-11-2014 01:34 PM

re: USCG 6 Pack License

Yes, you can. There is no requirement that you take a class. The classes exist only because a lot of people find that taking a class helps them to pass the test.

Don't forget that you also have to be able to document your sea time. I believe the minimum is 360 days for the 6-pack license.

ukrsindicat 02-11-2014 01:37 PM

Great, thank you. Is that 360 days of seatime over the course of certain period?

Can anyone point me out to a good study guide? only thing that I was able to find online were the actual $500 courses.

Scallywag2 02-11-2014 02:01 PM

Took a class...Passed....Did not pass the color vision test...Not all in vain...Learned a lot from class....Others that took the test and received six pack license found the cost of insurance to be too high for the amount of money made....

Dot and John

newhaul 02-11-2014 02:01 PM