Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2006

alan.b is on a distinguished road
rubber washer for keel bolts

I am a student in the UK and I have to complete assignment for my course work which I have to ask for expert advise, I would be greatful for any help.
The question is which rubber for washers you would use to to fix in keel bolts and why?
Many thanks for any advise
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 02-20-2006

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
I don't think that I would use a rubber washer under a keel bolt. Keel bolts need to be torqued tp a very high tension. They need to maintain this tension through a pretty wide range of loadings with negligible elongation. That would discourage the use of a compressible washer. If a comperssible washer had to be used, I would think that urethane washer would be the best material for that purpose. Urethane can be specified in a range of stiffness, and I would guess that the least compressive urethane might work. Urethane can be ordered in a formulation that is stable with prolonged exposure to water. With some Urethanes are some issues when exposed to petrochemicals for prolonged periods as might accidently happen in a bilge.

Jeff
Old 02-20-2006

Silmaril is on a distinguished road
A thought...

I agree with Jeff 100% for using washers inside the hull, under the nuts for the keel bolts.

In a completely "Outside the box" thought, you COULD use rubber washers, if the intent was to make the holes water tight in this fashion, although I can find no practical reason anyone would.

If this is truly for course work, and for theoretical use only: