Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2014

bionicman is on a distinguished road
Need suggestions - 20' competitive lake boat

Hello all, hopefully I'm posting in the correct place. (mods please relocate if I'm mistaken)

I’m looking for some suggestions for a boat that I can keep down at my local lake and take out on weekends with the wife or with friends, but that will also be competitive. I’ve been sailing on and off since I was a young child, so I’m not a novice sailor. What I’m looking for is:
- length 18-20’
- monohull with small cuddy (added)
- total trailered weight preferably under 2,000 lbs
- handles well in 5-15 knot winds (the ability to plane in heavier wind would be a huge plus)
- PHRF rating as low as possible (under 190 would be optimal)
- a stabler boat would be better, as I’ll frequently have inexperienced crew
- cost preferably under 10k

Ultimately a U20 would be perfect (pun intended), but spending 20k+ on a boat would be frowned upon by the wife. About 6 months ago I let a cherry Holder 20 slip through my fingers because I had done very little research at the time, but from what I’ve read that boat may not be stable enough for my needs. Does anyone have thoughts on the Holder 20 or other similar boats that I should be considering? Thanks!

Last edited by bionicman; 03-13-2014 at 02:10 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-13-2014

Tim R. is on a distinguished road
Re: Need suggestions - 20' competitive lake boat

How about a Nacra 18? That is a fast and fun cat.

If you prefer monos, a J22 or an SJ21. I little bit bigger than you asked but still good candidates.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.