Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2014

Tim R. is on a distinguished road
Interesting anchor concept

I was at the Maine Boatbuilders show this weekend and there was a company(Quickline) with a new anchor design that was pretty interesting. It looks very similar to all the new generation type anchors like the Mantus, Manson and Rocna. What makes their anchor different is that they load the fluke with lead and the shank is hollow. This gives the shank positive buoyancy and eliminates the need for a roll-bar. The shank also has a fairly high rise to assist in rolling the anchor over to its proper orientation.

Not endorsing them in any way as I have no direct experience. Just wanted to present the info for discussion.

Ultra Anchors | Stainless Steel Anchors | Quickline USA

Let's try to stay away from the fact that they are SS and very expensive and focus on the design concept.

Apologize for claiming they are new. I should have said new to me.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----------------------------------------------------

Last edited by Tim R.; 03-17-2014 at 10:15 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2014

JonEisberg will become famous soon enough
Re: Interesting anchor concept

Well, they're hardly new, the Ultras have been around for quite some time, now... Personally, I see very little difference between them, and the aluminum Spade, in their essential design...

"Buoyancy of the shank" ??? Hmmm, not so sure about that one... :-)

Last one to try adding 'floatation' to an anchor was Hydro Bubble, that didn't work out so well... :-)

kentobin likes this.

Last edited by JonEisberg; 03-17-2014 at 10:15 AM.