Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2001

JerryO39 is on a distinguished road
Inner Mast Stays??

Hello,
I am new to sailing and also new to this bbs.Can some one give me info on adding an "Inner Mast Stay".Several webpages I visit recommened or have added this support system in case the "Forestay" gives up.I spend hours on the net trying to learn all I can about sailing.Hope to oneday (soon) head out on my own boat and see the world,this mast bracing technique may help to reduce this growing fear I have of "dismasting" and the storiesd I read of this .
Thanks for any input,
JerryO
PS:I posted this also in Gear and Maintenance but have no reply as yet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-06-2001
JeffH

Inner Mast Stays??

It is not a simple task to add a babystay. Frankly a Babystay won''t keep your mast up in most dismasting situations and besides a babystay makes it much harder to tack as you have to drag the sail over the stay on each tack. Typically, when a forestay breaks the forward lower shrouds and luff wire in jib are usually enough to keep your mast up until you can rig the spin halyard as a temporary forestay.

To add a babystaym you need to glass a sting back and transverse frame to the centerline of the boat in the interior of the hull in a direct line with the stay.