Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2006

Bernie K is on a distinguished road
Decking Material -- Teak vs Fiberglass

I'm new to the BB and am quite impressed with the conversations I have reviewed. While I am boatless for the time being, I do look forward to a purhase of a coastal cruiser - eventual blue water boat. From my previous experience (limited), I have come across owners that had teak decks that had pulled them up to correct water seepage resulting in some deck rot.

Any suggestions out there as far as what to avoid what looking at used boats and their respective decks? I ask because for example, I've admired teh Swans, but their decks are teak -- what goes - suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

Bernie
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-26-2006
Señor Member

TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough
Nothing compares to the beauty & traction of a natural teak deck . . . as long as it is properly maintained. They are found on the most expensive boats, but also on some older (& cheaper) Taiwanese-built boats, using inferior craftsmanship, materials and fastening techniques. One could argue that these boats have given teak decks a bad name.

The greatest liability is fasteners leaking into a cored substrate, rotting the core & migrating to cabin spaces below. This can be avoided if the screw bungs and caulking are maintained by not using bleach or other chemicals which may degrade the caulking & glues.

The best teak installation is when overlaid on a solid fiberglass deck. To my knowledge, Nauticat Yachts is the only boat builder that does this with all their boats.
Old 04-26-2006

TrueBlue: