SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Eastward HO 24

37K views 28 replies 19 participants last post by  dhlacey 
#1 ·
Hi All!

My husband and I bought and EHO 24 last year and would appreciate any information and/or experience that others may have had with this boat.

Thanks!
Christine

#2 ·
I remember the wood version from when I was a kid back in New England. Nice-looking, chunky little motorsailer, not bad as a sailboat, liked a breeze though since not a lightweight. A tough little boat that'll take you much farther than most 24-footers would think of going, even if not real fast.

Sorry I couldn't remember more. Good sailing.

#5 ·
ewo250 said:
I have been sailing a 24 for 5 years now and love it. Stable rugged and very forgiving. Let me know if you have some specific questions
Wow!

I'm so excited to get any response on this let alone 2! My husband is the veteran sailor and I am learning. When he is around I will have him ask more questions.

I know one of his concerns is that the chain plates don't seem very strong so he is planning to redo these eventually. Have you had any problems with yours?

What areas have you sailed in? Have you done any bluewater with her? Any info you have on the boat in general would be great---I've not had much luck with Googling in this instance. We'd love to see pics of your boat if you're so inclined.

We just bought ours last September and have only taken her out for one sail so far. Hubby is doing some work on her and she needs some cosmetic TLC but she seems like a solid little boat and we look forward to more sailing.

Thanks!

#6 ·
regul8or31 said:
She's an amazing design. The biggest boat in 24' around. A stiff, solid, comfortable sail with room to swing a cat below. I am parting with mine withh deep regret - to sail no more.