Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2006
Coming to a dock near you

oday27 is on a distinguished road
New York to Florida Via ICW

I recently purchased a 27' oday with a yanmar diesel. The boat engine is solid and the sails are in great shape.

I am new to sailing big boats. I have a J-22 race boat. I am wondering if a 27 oday is to small to make a coastal trip to florida from New York. I would have experienced sailors and navigators onboard for the trip. I understand preparation is key.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-03-2006

chuck5499 is on a distinguished road
NY to FLA

ODay27 -- not sure when you are leaving or what your route of travel is but here are a few things to consider -
first - there we are now in named wind season so a careful daily check on the weather is mandatory -
second - are you going via the c&d canal, down the chesapeake, then via the icw to say beaufort and off shore or what - remember the weather around point lookout can be bad and it can create it's own weather -
third - how much time are you planning - probably not enough
two of us brought down a jeanneau ds40 in oct and came via the icw from annapolis and went offshore at cape fear river - we ran like heck and i mean running 24 hours a day where we could and the rest was before dawn to after dark and we made cape canaveral in 9 days - but it was brutal - we went via the ditch on purpose to avoid cape lookout - someday we will go north and come back again and via the outside but not that trip due to the weather, time of year and once committed there is no place to duck for cover if a front blows through
good luck and enjoy the trip down - it is a blast
chuck and soulmates
Old 06-03-2006
moderate?