SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

My crappy sail today

7K views 51 replies 27 participants last post by  Ajax_MD 
#1 ·
Had a crappy sail today, learned a couple things.

It was very windy outside of Baltimore today. I went out by myself with about three hours of daylight left. I planned to try reefing my main, which I've never done before other than a quick trial in light air.

Here's how it went:

- Started to unfurl the genoa. I intended to keep that reefed too, but she snapped all the way out. With a sheet in one hand and the furling line in the other, I let go of the furling line to handle the sheet. Oops...furling line is too short (recently re-installed the furler) and now the bitter end is lying up on the foredeck.

- (By the way, I normally raise the main first, but today the wind was coming from a different direction and I was able to bring out the genny and secure the engine while still in the creek).

- After reaching some bigger water, I tried to come up into the wind a couple times to take air out of the genoa, but the wind just would not allow me to. By now we're really getting beat up.

- Started the motor, but with the tiller hard over and the motor at the highest RPM I was comfortable with, the wind would still not allow us to come up.

- Meanwhile, my genoa is beating itself up and--a new experience for me--the sheets have now knotted and twisted themselves together. Now I am unable to try my backup plan of jibing back toward shelter instead of heading up to handle the sail.

- I went forward to haul in the reefing line. I got 6 or 8 feet in when it jammed. Let it back out, tried again, jammed again.

- Did I mention that lee shore?