Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2006

groundhog is on a distinguished road
Which chart software?

Who has the best charting software? Any free downloads?

Actually, as I am new to sailing, maybe the better question is ...
what should I buy? Paper, electronic? I have no idea which is best.

I am hoping to go meet up with friends in Essex and I am a couple of hours sail from them south off of the patomac near the key bridge. I just realised that I might need a chart .... gulp!

Thanks,
groundhog
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-27-2006

Omatako will become famous soon enough
For what it's worth I use Seapro with Admiralty raster charts but only for trip planning and waypoint identification. Down side is Seapro can't be copied, works off a dongle so can only be used on one computer at a time.

There will probably be a dozen responses that'll tell you there are better choices but I guess it's like all software, the one you're used to is always the best one.

I would never go to sea depending on electronic charts and only use proper charts, not photocopies which I have seen literally disintegrate with a splash of water.
Old 06-27-2006
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
I'd second Omatako. Even though I do have a good chartplotter on my boat, I also carry and use paper charts. That way, if the chartplotter fails, I can still get where I'm going.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take