Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2001

SHIMSHON is on a distinguished road
LIGHTNING

Would like to hear from any sailors who have had direct experience with lightning strikes and lightning dissipaters. I understand the theory but do they really work?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-03-2001

RobHoman is on a distinguished road
LIGHTNING

I have no personal experience beyond near misses in a couple of different marinas.

But.....there is a sailboat a couple of docks away from us that was hit by lightning. It had/has one of those lightning dissipaters on it. I do not know which one is on the boat, but it didn''t seem to work to well.
Old 09-11-2001

CarlT is on a distinguished road
LIGHTNING

When lightning travels 20 miles, a wire bottle brush is not going to stop it.
I plan on grounding, as I will be the tallest sail boat under the lightning when I''m hit.
I hope my message got through as this is a poor excuse for a BBS.
Carl T. Knox
Sailing weekends on Superior.
Old 09-12-2001

seawind24 is on a distinguished road
LIGHTNING

Well Carl T. Knox if this is such a poor excuse of a BBS, may I ask why do you waste your time reading and/or posting messages on it? Probably most of the people that do read and or post messages here and enjoy doing so would prefer NOT to read your messages anyway. Gees, what a guy.

Old 05-06-2006

dpatrick is on a distinguished road
Lightning