Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2006

simple72 is on a distinguished road
How Much Can My Boat Take

I know that my thread is vauge and kind of amaturish but I'm new to sailing. Monday night I was sailing my new to me 1986 O'day 272 from Sailors Haven to Bellport. My totally inexperienced guest and I set out running downwind with 3 foot rollers in the bay. As the sun set the wave height increased and they began breaking. The wind was a steady 25mph with gusts to 35.

We were way overpowered with the main (no jib) when we switched to a broad reach. Dropped the sail (kind of scary) and continued to motor the course. The boat was really rolling and pitching and there was a lot of pressure on the tiller whilst we slid down the waves. Can a 272 with the wing keel capsize under power? Aprox what kind of seas/winds would it take?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-16-2006

Sasha_V will become famous soon enough
As a rule dropping sail alltogether and resorting to the engine renders a SAILboat less stable in just about all conditions.

The idea is to balance the pressure and placement of the wind on the sails and thereby find the sweet spot to sail by. IN some conditions all the sail looks like two hankerchiefs left out on the line, but they are doing their job.

I have an Endeavour26 and at 25knots we start we are going down to the number 2 headsail and leaving the full main. In 35 we are down to the number 3 blade heady and are seriously considering putting a reef into the main, but that is just how our boat behaves.

The condition of your sails and how flat they are also plays a big role in the equation.

Sasha
Old 08-16-2006

paulk is on a distinguished road