Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2006

Alienagw is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to Alienagw
Dockage,Slips,Marinas,Moorings

Hello All,

Would it be possible to start a forum to begin listing costs for rental and sales of long term boat placement.

I am a novice but it seems that boat slips cost more than boats and houses in many cases. (At least in Florida)

So many of you have vital information about location, condition, service, costs, et.al. about where you keep your boat. Could be a most valuble resource for us all.

Is there an advantge to buying a slip as an investment?

Thank you,
A
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-26-2006
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Most people don't buy their slips or moorings AFAIK.

My slip costs me about $2500 for the months of April-October. November-March will cost me about $1500 or so. The boat is 28' long.

BTW, don't necessarily think buying a slip is a good investment, unless you are buying the land that the slip is adjacent to as well.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

óCpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this