Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2006

Jrod63 is on a distinguished road
Cal 34 deck/mast support

I've been sailing for years but I'm new to boat ownership. I'm looking at a Cal 34 1969. I've sailed the boat several times in different conditions and she seems solid.

However, I've been told by a surveyor that the decking, forward of the mast, has moisture as measured by a moisture meter. He also observed cracks beneath the mast area in the ceiling inside the cabin. He suspects that the weakening of the deck is causing the mast to depress the surrounding decking causing the cracking. He suggests that repairs will have to be completed before insurance will be issued on the boat.

Does anyone have any experience with this issue or have advice? Is it reasonable to expect to repair this myself?

Thanks

Cal 34
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-22-2006

Sialia is on a distinguished road
Jrod63,

Did the surveyor discuss the fix for the deck problem? If he's certain that you will not be able to get insurance because of the moisture, did he provide you with the moisture level? And is the plywood core delaminated from the deck? I would start with the surveyor and get a full description of the problem, which you probably have, and a full description of how he would go about fixing it. This will give you an idea of what to do and possibly a list of specific questions for this forum and a nearby boatyard.

Good luck! I hope that some of our knowledgeable members post additional responses.
Old 09-22-2006

knothead has a spectacular aura about knothead has a spectacular aura about knothead has a spectacular aura about
We've had a couple of boats with the problems you are describing.