Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2006

kreton is on a distinguished road
Thoughts and Q on Mainsail Systems for Shorthanded Boats

Hi,

Can I get your suggestion /experiences on mailsail systems for shorthanded/singlehanded boats ? Lazy Jacks v. in mast furling etc.

Here's mine...

I've been using in mast furling systems for 6 years yet never felt really at ease with them because several times the mainsail got stuck, always during furling in.

Once I returned to the marina with the hoisted mainsail somehow stuffed under the boom. The repair guys told me that certain pins inside the mast have to be readjusted every year due to not-so-good design or I should expect such serious jammings.

Now I follow their advice and cruise with only minor jammings, usually close to the mast head. In such cases my best solution is to pull in hard on the vang and traveler while easing the topping lift. The best way to avoid these minors is to keep tension on the outhaul while furling-in.

So far I am OK for local and coastal sailing but what to do for longer cruises ? Having a serious jamming problem when you are 20 miles to the marina is one issue, 250 miles a totally different issue.

I would say the vertical (slab reefing) systems are better especially with lazy jack but then I would not feel comfortable leaving the cockpit at night time to reef in while being the only person in the cockpit.

I am curious what shorthanded or single handed boats, skippers do with non-furl systems, especially at night ?

Can we assume jamming risk increases as mainsail area gets bigger ? Large sail means more sail area and more loads. If so, smaller boats get a bonus !

This issue may also be related with the sailcloth too...

Thanks !!