Where do I start?!! - SailNet Community
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-13-2016 Thread Starter

Where do I start?!!

So our family is a total newbie when it comes to sailing and we just bought a1986 Hunter 23 today. We are very exctited and cant wait to get started into the world of sailing. We have absolutely no experience so the gentleman we purchased the boat from is going to give us sailing lessons on our new boat. My question is. When we first bring the boat home we want to give it a good deep cleaning. What is the best way to go about this and the best way to do it? Remember we are newbies here. lol. Over the rest of the winter we want to do all of the cosmetic work on the inside and some outside before we start our sailing adventures in the spring. Any tips and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Sal Paradise likes this.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 01-13-2016

Re: Where do I start?!!

Love to see the excitement of new sailors. Welcome aboard. I am minded by your post of how we felt just 3 years ago. And we too found this forum very helpful as you no doubt will too. The cleaning questions has many answers depending upon condition. Many here have preferred cleaners depending on the issue at hand. For most cleaning I have found LA's FInest cleaner from the dollar store to work well. For black marks or most other stains as well as deep cleaning, a liquid form of Barkeeper's Helper (from Lowes) to be an excellent product. Feel free to use the search button on this site to learn more. That and youtube have been our friends in getting started in the enjoyable journey of sailboat maintenance and use. Welcome

The two best days of a boater's life... The day he buys it and every day he SAILS it.
post #3 of 13 Old 01-13-2016
Seattle Sailor