SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

2 sets of oarlocks on a Porta bote?

8K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  2Gringos 
#1 ·
I've been internet-eyeing Porta Botes for a couple years, thinking of getting one and selling the West Marine 3.5m RIB that came with the boat. Corresponded with some owners. Looked at Youtube videos etc. But never saw one in person until this week. I guess there aren't any in the Turks and Caicos Islands. But A cruiser came into the marina with a 10 ft. Porta Bote as a dink and today he showed us how to set it up. In fact, my wife and I set it up and it took us maybe 20 minutes the first time. I could see it taking 5 minutes with some practice. I went out rowing in it, and was pretty impressed. We're planning to take it out again with a 6 hp Tohatsu on it later today.

My question is whether or not any of you have ever seen a 14 ft. Porta Bote with two sets of oarlocks in it? We're thinking that might be an interesting setup for two people who want to row.

#2 ·
I've not seen one with two oar locks but it should be easy enough to do. I've had a eight foot Porta Boat since 2001 and love it. There is a Porta Boat listserv on Yahoo you could ask there. Or give PB a call. The oar locks should be easily to install if you get a pair from the company believe they use rivets.

#4 · (Edited)
decent little tugs. I've got a photo of the cruiser from next door, using his to push this hull into a slot where we could lift it out of the water before it sank on Saturday but haven't yet figured out how to post a photo here. This ten foot Porta Bote is just a thousand miles from completing a 3 and a half year circumnavigation, and Bill says he is NEVER going back to RIBs. He loves his PortaBote.

Not quite clear how to upload it, but lets try this:

Attachments

#5 ·