Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2006

slyrss3 is on a distinguished road
Frac rigs and Contessa 35

Can anyone help me out? I have a couple of questions. One, I almost bought a Contessa 35. It is a Doug Peterson design IOR boat. What attracted me to the boat was it's reputation for being seaworthy and fast, and it was cheap, $15,000. It did have a baby stay, and I have no experience with that. I was wondering if you had a baby stay so you could bend your mast to flatten your main, how comrarable is that to tightening your backstay on a fractional rig?

Second question. there are a few Ericson 30+ here in California. I thought wow, a nice sized frac rig boat. I read in a post that Jeff H didn't like the underbody. I saw a picture of the underbody on Yachtworld, and it looked good to my eye. Could someone explain to me what to look for in a hull form. Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-24-2006
Super Fuzzy Moderator

tdw is a jewel in the rough tdw is a jewel in the rough tdw is a jewel in the rough
The Ericson question is the easy bit. Having just had a quick squizz at one that fin is really a bit to small for a satisfactory cruising boat. No skeg in front of the rudder. It would be fine for around the buoys racing and for day sailing but not really all that hot for offshore. A longer keel will give greater directional stability while the skeg gives a measure of protection to your rudder. Some people would of course argue that a full keel is the go but there is always room for a bit of compromise.