Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2006

Kacper is on a distinguished road
Sailing Late October/november

Hello,

I am fairly new to sailing and have only sailed in the English Bay, Straight of Georgia, and Gulf Island Areas in the summer in moderate winds. I live in Vancouver, BC.

I am wondering if it's relatively safe to sail in the English Bay/ Bowen Island area this time of year, late october early november, in a 27 foot boat like a Catalina.

I would really like to get out there for a 2 day trip to Bowen island and back. Or Pirates Bay past the Gabriola Pass

I haven't had much experience in gales, and it looks like the winds are rough.

With a 27 foot cruising boat and a jib up in strong winds is it relatively safe to get to these destinations?

Does anyone have experience sailing during this time in these common areas?

How big can the waves get in gale force winds in the straight of georgia?

Not that I mind the excitement and adventure, but I do not want to put the crew in danger.

I went out to Point Atkinson just this weekend and the winds were up to 28 knots, had to take down the main and use the Jib alone. Is this regular this time of year?

Kacper

Last edited by Kacper; 10-24-2006 at 02:29 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-24-2006
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Whether it is safe really depends on several things... your skill and experience as a sailor, your familiarity with the boat, and how she handles heavy weather, the boat's seaworthiness, and the weather.

Getting experience in heavy weather is the only way to really learn about how to handle heavy weather.