Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2006

T37Chef will become famous soon enough
Winter Storage in the water?

Looking for some pointers about keeping a boat in the water over the winter (Chesapeake Bay Area).

I have never done this before and am considering it this year for the first time. Tips on what to do or not to do. Is keeping a heater on board all winter a bad idea?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-26-2006

k1vsk will become famous soon enough
Keeping a heater going will obviously create the possibility of an electrical fire alhtough that deson't seem to dissuade some folks from doing just that.
Just make sure all the thru-hulls are closed, the systems properly winterized as you would on the hard and a bubbler system is working at the dock to preclude ice buildup in the water around the hull.

You should obviously cover the boat as you would anywhere else and be prepared to check periodically throughout the winter that the bilge pump is operating properly and batteries are charged.

Some folks are learly of in-water storage but it's not a real problem.

You should verify with your insurance underwritter that the boat is insured for damage due to ice, a common exclusion, but most underwriters will endorse the policy for damage for minimal or no additional cost.
Old 10-26-2006

T37Chef will become famous soon enough
Thanks. ]

What do you do about that bilge water, in the hose, pump, and bilge?
Old 10-26-2006
Banned

eryka is on a distinguished road
frozen seacocks can sink your boat!!