SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Houston to Freeport, Bahamas

3K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  PBzeer 
#1 ·
Greetings, all.
I am somewhat new to Sailnet. I have been reading and learning a lot, but this is my first post. Maybe you can help me with a problem.

I have recently moved to the Bahamas (not as exotic as it seems, but still very fun) and in the process of getting rid of an old car I had in the States, was offered a Catalina 27 in trade. It seems like a nice boat, but it doesn't have a trailer, and it is in Houston, TX.

My sailing experience is quite limited. I took some lessons and sailed a Catalina 22 for a couple of summers on an inland lake. So, I am not qualified to sail it here myself. I thought about pulling it to Fla and sailing over, but I don't have a trailer. I would love the experience of sailing it here from Houston, but don't know whether that should be attempted in such a small boat. Do some captains who deliver boats take the owner along as crew?

Any thoughts or suggestions would be great! Thanks!

#2 ·
I had a Catalina 27. And I am now completing the first leg of what you're talking about - going from Houston to St. Petersburg thus far. We'll stop for this season in Ft. Meyers. The Keys and Bahamas are for next summer. But I'm doing it all in a Hunter 40 - not the C27.

Bottom line is that I wouldn't do this trip in a C27. I do think it's doable from a technical perspective, if the boat was absolutely tip-top shape...but no freakin' way would I do it.

#3 ·
Take the intercoastal from Texas to the East coast of Florida. Sit at Miami [ no name harbor ] and WAIT for a good forecast.

Not a trip to do on a schedule.

Lots have done it on something like a Catalina 27. I would still do it with an OB a good inboard diesel would be better.