SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

maiden voyage

3K views 20 replies 9 participants last post by  pigslo 
#1 ·
i am picking up a boat in orange county califorina to bring it home to portland oregon in the spring. i am new to the game and so will not leave untill i have found a captain/friend to make the judgment calls... but is it true that you HAVE to go by way of Hawaii ??? looking at the charts it would seem so. if i have to stop there on the way, OH WELL... i can get over that. after getting nav gear and such what am i looking at for expences. and i know thats a loaded question. what i am talking about is the basics, not hotel stays and bar tabs. i am guessing what, three weeks each way give or take ? i am planing on doing this on a 30' catalina in good condition... and yes i do plan to take a shake down criuse befor heading for blue water

if i pay basic expences it would make it easyer finding this friend/captain

also, please recomend any good books on the subject,

so in searching for this other person to facilitate the voyage, where is this place to look ? here ? other sites ? does any one have any cautionary tales for me ? ..... GO....

#4 ·
Are you serious about sailing a 30ft Catalina off shore?
I think that is a rather light boat. Unless you have some information that I don't have. This is winter, the winds in Santa Barbara Channel alone are sometime 30 knots. You might save your money and time and have it trucked up. Just a thought. I've sailed Catalinas.
Not a strong boat for my money on this type of trip.
ca

#5 ·
???

chrisaugustine said:
Are you serious about sailing a 30ft Catalina off shore?