Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2007

zhahn is on a distinguished road
Trans-Atlantic Sail

I am a recent college graduate, feel free to offer your condolences, and am looking to have a bit of adventure before getting tied down in this so called ďreal world.Ē Iíd like to travel for awhile (most likely Europe) and do so as cheaply as possible. A major cost Iím looking to reduce is airfare, and I figure sailing across to Europe would make a much better story than 8 hours in a cramped seat. So what I was wondering is if anyone can offer any advice on possibly hitching a Trans-Atlantic ride on someone personal sailboat. Are there any yearly Eastward Trans-Atlantic races that need crewing? Are there any festivals/gatherings/reasons a large number of people sail out from this side of the Atlantic to any part of that side, and would be needing crew? Any popular ports of departure or time of year for departure? Whatís a ballpark figure in terms of time to sail across? I donít know much about Trans-Atlantic sailboat traffic so any information you could offer would be helpful.