Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2007

gottamove is on a distinguished road
CallForThoughts.

howdy,
I am a small farmer on the east coast and I love what I do. A reason being that I get 3-4 months off each winter, after working my arse off, to shove off and do ridiculous adventuring. I am already looking to plan my next winter and specifically looking to leave the land I love so much and take to the water. Does anyone leave from the east coast(mid-atlantic) in November and head south or anywhere? Or is this a pipe dream? Another question being how likely is it that a complete sailing novice can get on a boat and gain passage somewhere? Does being a trained engineer, hard worker, a cook, and able to be comfortable with little in most outdoors conditions for extended expeditions, help at all? Can you just walk the docks and hop on somewhere?Any thoughts on this would be most helpful! Thanks!

-Nico
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-13-2007
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Thousands of sailboats head south out of the Chesapeake and points north each October and November at the end of hurricane season to hea for warmer waters. Most head for the Keys or Bahamas and some go to FL west coast or further south in the Caribbean. That's the good news!
I think you will have a very difficult time hooking up for any sort of extended passagemaking given your lack of sea time but one never knows. It wouldn't hurt to take some courses or sailing lessons this winter to buff up your resume a bit.