SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Considering purchase of 1980 Gulfstar CC

6K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  Valiente 
#1 ·
I'm on the west coast and considering buying a Gulfstar 44...the previous owner has spent a ridiculous amount of money in refitting her....New engine,transmission, rigging, mast, boom, cabin, hull LP paint, all new wiring, boom-vang, canvas enclosure, new bottom....on and on....my question is how is the structure integrity of the hull...I know they were and still are used alot in the carribean and east coast, but someone tell me their overall thoughts on Gulfstar in general...I was told that either Alden or Ted Hood designed them, depending on the year.......Thanks!!

#2 ·
I am not a boat expert like Jeff H but have always held the Gulfstar line in a favorable view. They are very popular in the Swest and are comfortable liveaboards. You wont be the first one to round the mark, but everyone will want coctails on your boat when you finally arrive.

Just my thoughts. Go for it.

- CD

#5 ·
We bought our 1981 44 Gulfstar this part summer and have been nothing but impressed....for a 1981 boat that is. I know there has been talk of inconsistent build quality and workmanship but we've seen nothing that is scary or bad. My husband works for a boat builder so he knows about fiberglass hulls and build quality. Pretty impressed with how it points, our rigging inspector had nothing but good things about how stout everything was. It gets a big WAF (wife appreciate factor) and I second it. The separate shower, nice salon and ample galley really make it comfortable. We had 11 on board for a New Years Eve party and had plenty of room. That said, it isn't really a party until someone falls overboard, and well let's just say it was a party!

#6 ·
SW,