SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Rigging Help/Advice QOL improvements

762 views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  hellosailor 
#1 ·
TL;DR = A bunch of separate questions about sailing my boat now that I've been out a few times. Thanks in advance.

So we've been out on this Morgan 24/25 sailing right around five times now and I'm starting to identify some things with which I need to ask more experienced folk about as far as things like best practices are concerned. Im still new to this so forgive my lack of knowledge about some of the language.

We sail in a relatively protected weather and have only been going out in winds < 15. Actually it got to 13 gusting higher the last time we were out and It was getting pretty testy for me just because I'm not sure how all the equipment will hold up.

I'm in the process of getting the standing rigging (there's nothing too bad, only one has rust appearing at the fitting and its an inner, no cracks (checked with a magnifying glass), open turnbuckles all in good shape, etc) and halyards replaced and I think that will help my trust in the vehicle a lot more. The boat is a 60's but the rigging definitely seems newer than that. I haven't gone up the mast but this is all why I'm taking it easy.

ANYWHO