SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   How do you fund your sailing... Hints, tips, just frugal? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/30262-how-do-you-fund-your-sailing-hints-tips-just-frugal.html)

JodyKS 03-14-2007 01:53 AM

How do you fund your sailing... Hints, tips, just frugal?

I have too many questions... does anyone want to share their method of funding their "Sailing Habit", or give tips on how to be frugal to make the money go farther? How much $$ minimum does it take per month.... or year to sail/ live aboard?

I will tell you how I intend to fund our live aboard sailing ..... My husband and I have been putting rentals together for 13+ years, we haven't had to punch a time clock for more than 8.... so we will probably sell them on payments with a higher interest... , and keep only the easy high proffit rentals.... We might even re-invest closer to the coast... so when ever we are wanting to be on land for a while... we just have to wait til a rental comes available.

I hope all people who want to sail full time have the opportunity.... our way I'm sure is just one way... but it's an idea that may help someone....

sailingdog 03-14-2007 02:30 AM

A lot of this depends on where you are, whether you're living on-board at the marina or on-the-hook, what boat you own, and so on.

Certain areas are more expensive than others... living at a marina is more convenient and more costly than living on-the-hook. Different boats will have different expenses.

When I leave, I am planning on living aboard, on-the-hook most of the time, and have setup the boat to be as self-sufficient as possible. I will probably have to work occassionaly to beef up the sailing kitty, but expect that for the first year or so to be spent mainly sailing.

Kacper 03-14-2007 04:43 AM

Hi JodyKS,