Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2002

lawson08 is on a distinguished road
theft, pirates, anyone?

Hi all, (caution: newbie)

I have some small experience sailing a Laser and loved it. Soon we may be moving to FL. and I''m thinking about getting involved in sailing seriously.

Now I read about people who live on their boats and/or let people hire them and their boats for custom cruises. What are the dangers/experiences that anyone here knows about the following:

- When docked, are boats easy to break into? Do things often get stolen? Or for that matter, can''t the theif just sail your boat away?

- Are there still real-life pirates in the caribbean? Is there any naval force that can be counted on for assistance?

- How do you know the people chartering your boat aren''t smuggling drugs back with them? Or psycho killers?

- Do many of you carry firearms? What are the laws and juridictions covering guns on boats?

Just wanting to know how scary it is out there... Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 01-26-2002

duffyM is on a distinguished road
theft, pirates, anyone?

yes ......get Insurance,travel with other boats,make friends with the authority''s do all you can to be ready.But be ready for Murphy he''s always waiting to catch you off guard,,,,,stop watching those movies and enjoy sailing !
Old 01-26-2002

HHJ is on a distinguished road
theft, pirates, anyone?

OK, as a newbie, first thing is lighten up. The things you seem concerned about are either extremely remote or, at worst, no more likely to happen to your boat than to your home.