Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2007

Trout66 is on a distinguished road
Heavy weather sailing - question

I'm a novice sailor who has taken some keelboat courses and I'm wondering about why none of the articles I've read on heavy weather suggest motoring (under certain conditions). They all seem to assume a skill level that a novice skipper, caught by accident in high winds, may not have.

If I'm out in heavy weather, (if I cant avoid it) lets say on the great lakes, but the winds are below gale force, why would I not just stow the sails and use the motor? Is this not a safer response for a skipper and crew who are novice?

I'm imagining a scenario where the wind has picked up, I want to head back to port, and I'm not comfortable messing with the sails.

Trout
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-25-2007
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough
Sails will drive a boat more effectively and consistently than engine power. Especially in short, steep seas, wave impact forces can slow or actually stop a boat moving under power. A boat under sail can drive thru the waves, generally with a more liveable motion than that experienced under power. If you can and do adjust the sail area for the wind strength, you will have a much better and faster trip than you would experience under power.
Old 09-25-2007
I'm the FNG still...

Lancer28 is on a distinguished road
I believe a lot of heavy weather sailing is focused on journeys not local sailing wher eyou can duck or motor back to a safe harbor.

the whole sail idea is safer, uses less fuel (which can get contaminated or have your motor stall) and you can heave to and let the boat relax while you go do something else like chunder from seasickness or whatever.