Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2007
Best Looking MALE Mod

Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough Cruisingdad is a jewel in the rough
Wooden Kit Boat

Any of you ever made a wooden kit boat? Not that I do not already have enough things going on in my life, but my father and I were talking about it the other day. He is a professional woodworker and I am a professional helper, so I thought it would be a fun little project. I was thinking something in the 12-15 foot range. Just a little sailing dink.

Lot of work, I know... but seems like it would be fun. Anyone here done that? Any pics?

- CD

2004 Catalina 400, Sea Mist IV (our boat, F/T Mobile Live Aboards in S FL and Keys primarily)
1987 Tayana Vancouver 42, Credendo Vides, (Mom and Pops boat, F/T Mobile Live Aboards in Puget Sound)

My Website:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Follow My Blog at:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Follow me on Facebook:

Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-09-2007
Move over Joan Rivers!

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
CD it is fun

And many of the kits out there use what is called "stitch and glue" My son and I built a couple of cheseapeake light crafts kayaks. You can build one in a weekend. We also (mostly me) got into strip built canoes. Then I progress to restoring old wooden canoes. Steam bending wood is really fun! I plan to build a wooden dink someday also.

the wooden boat store sells plans also.

good luck!

my current "project"!
Old 10-09-2007
Best Looking MALE Mod