Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2007
Detachable member

wchevron is on a distinguished road
shore power dumb question

sorry for the question but i'm new to sailing. just purchased a 1978 catalina 30. when the shore power is connected to the boat the and circuit breakers on the dock are in the on position, is there anything on the boat's elec. panel that has to be on to charge the batteries? (ac main switch?) it doesn't seem to be charging but i don't know if maybe the power at the dock is off?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-19-2007

JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough
Normally, you should have a separate AC electrical panel inside the boat, usually next to your DC panel. On the AC panel, there should be one master switch that you throw to allow AC power to the other breaker switches on the panel. One of those other breaker switches should be labelled "battery charger" and you would have to turn that switch on to send power to the battery charger.

However, and please do not take this as a put down because it's not intended that way, are you certain your boat has a battery charger? I have seen many AC panels with a labelled switch for a battery charger, but no charger was ever installed.
Old 10-19-2007

soul searcher is on a distinguished road
No such thing as a gumb question.
1 do you have a AC volt meter on your panel or any way of knowing Ac is present on the boat, plug in a fan or light in a AC outlet.
2 do you have a volt meter that you can test battery voltage with?
3 is there a breaker for the charger.
A good quality volt meter is worth the investment. AC main should be on. might be labled shore power.
hope this helps