SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Traveling the Champlain Canal

24K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  dmoltz 
#1 · (Edited)
I've been asked by several people over the past few months to provide info and tips on transiting the Champlain Canal and the Hudson River. I've only done it once, so I'm by no means an expert, but I figured I'd put all of my tips in one place. If others have anything else they would like to add, please do! Also, many people are often willing to help others make the trip through the canal system. I, for one, time depending, can volunteer to help out. If you are looking for extra hands, feel free to post here too!

So here are the tips:
  • On our 40ft boat, when we came up the canal this past May, we created 3 X's out of 2x6's (could have gotten away with two) and a square frame for the stern (also 2x6's). The three X's were placed: 3 feet or so from the bow, over the mast boot, over the companionway (we would get rid of this one in the future) and the square stern brace was, well, on the stern. We heavily strapped the X-braces and the square frame to the boat (anywhere solid) and we also did the same with the mast (from the spreaders). You can leave the spreaders on.
  • Make sure the stick is very secure. You can have it shipped from Champlain to Albany (or Catskill) or the other way, but expect to pay $1,200-$1,700 for a 56' mast. Put your boom down below (or do what we did - put it and your bimini on a trailer and drive it north or south). Leave the mainsail on if you want. Also, make sure you remove your genoa from the furler. The extra weight of the sail makes a big difference (at least it did for us - it was huge, and we almost damaged the sail by leaving it on).