Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2008

amayotte is on a distinguished road
What about the Pearson 27

Hello,

I am looking at buying a Pearson 27 and before I do so I'm trying to find as much info on the boat as possible, but am hitting some walls.
There seems to be lots of dedicated site to other pearson boats but none for the 27.
I've found some mailing lists with broken links and some pics but nothing in depth, detailing how the boat really sails and what kind of problems to expect having one.
I'm a novice sailor and my biggest concern is how well it single hands and how well the boat is balanced and such.
Anyone here know of who I could try and talk to about this or a site that I may have missed?

Thanks,
Adam
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-10-2008

CalypsoP35 is on a distinguished road
Some thoughts

No personal knowledge of the P27. But in looking at the brochure on the Pearsoninfo.net it looks like the jib and mainsheets are well forward of the helm, making it a pain to singlehand this boat.

I have a P35 that I singlehand quite frequently. My jib sheet wenches are on either side of the helm and my mainsheet is behind the helm giving me easy access to all my sheets without having to move from the wheel to tack or make adjustments. Also, if you're going to singlehand a lot an autopilot is a huge help, especially in raising and lowering the sails. Same for furling jib.

Good luck!
Old 01-10-2008
Senior Moment

SailorMitch will become famous soon enough
Adam,