SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   How do i find out my boats gross weight? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/40754-how-do-i-find-out-my-boats-gross-weight.html)

Stevyboy 02-20-2008 01:26 PM

How do i find out my boats gross weight?

Howdy, I'm new to sailing and I'm in search of my boats gross weight because I need to tow the thing on a trailer (I know I'd rather sail it too but it just doesn't seem safe for me yet). So anyways the only information I've come across is the boats displacement weight, which is 5400 Lbs.

Is that the actual weight? or does that mean something else? Can anyone enlighten me?

Steve

camaraderie 02-20-2008 01:32 PM

Displacement is generally the weight of the boat before you put anything on it like fuel, water, provisions outboard etc. so add some to the displacement to estimate tow weight!

Stevyboy 02-20-2008 03:07 PM

thanks

Thanks for that. Does anyone know of any good services that tow boats in california? I have an 2003 F250 but I'm trying to figure out if its worth buying a trailer and then selling it after I'm done useing it or if it would be better to just tow the boat.

Steve

sailortjk1 02-20-2008 03:13 PM

The trailer would probably pay for itself over time.
I would (If its in your budget) buy the trailer and than use it.
Its nice to be able to trailer your boat to differnt locations.

max-on 02-20-2008 04:18 PM

This "listed" displacement weight by the builder is usually the "design" displacement not the "actual" displacement weight as built, so keep that in mind when estimating the weight, and as Cam said it is the weight before items are added to the boat.

chucklesR 02-20-2008 05:39 PM

Don't forget the weight of the trailer when calculating total weight.