SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Captains license for Sailboats (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/41288-captains-license-sailboats.html)

conery 03-12-2008 12:32 AM

Captains license for Sailboats

I know you can get a 6pack 100ton, 200ton ect....
But what and how do you get a sailboat captains license?

Can anyone shead some light on this?
Dose sea time on power boats also count for a sailboat captains license?
I think sea time on a sailboat counts for a power boat license.

Any help?
Conery

gershel 03-12-2008 12:49 AM

I have a 50 ton masters with a sail endorsment. I don't think there is a seperate license just for sail.
Marc

dbrimm 03-12-2008 01:07 AM

There isn't a separate license for sail (at least for the USCG), just an endorsement that is attached to whatever license you may hold. For example I have a 200 ton, OUPV (6pack) w/ sail endorsement.

Your time doesn't have to be from sailboats though the USCG may question it if you have no sail time... time is time.

sailingdog 03-12-2008 01:20 AM

In the US... there a captain's license is a captain's license... and issued by the USCG. While you can get a sailing endorsement, I don't believe that there are separate "sailboat-specific" captain's licenses. IIRC, time at sea doesn't differentiate between time on sailing craft and power craft.

chucklesR 03-12-2008 07:13 AM

Funny, from what you are saying then to get a Master of Sail requires no time actually on deck of a sailboat? Somebody must be misreading the back of the cracker jack box.

I'm going to total up my rowboat, canoe and kayak time and see if I can get one tomorrow.

sailingdog 03-12-2008 07:39 AM

Getting a Master of Sail is not the same thing as just getting a USCG license. Your new avatar must be addling your brain, since the skull is so much smaller... :)