Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2008
One Lucky Dog

conery is on a distinguished road
Captains license for Sailboats

I know you can get a 6pack 100ton, 200ton ect....
But what and how do you get a sailboat captains license?

Can anyone shead some light on this?
Dose sea time on power boats also count for a sailboat captains license?
I think sea time on a sailboat counts for a power boat license.

Any help?
Conery
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-12-2008

gershel is on a distinguished road
I have a 50 ton masters with a sail endorsment. I don't think there is a seperate license just for sail.
Marc
Old 03-12-2008

dbrimm is on a distinguished road
There isn't a separate license for sail (at least for the USCG), just an endorsement that is attached to whatever license you may hold. For example I have a 200 ton, OUPV (6pack) w/ sail endorsement.

Your time doesn't have to be from sailboats though the USCG may question it if you have no sail time... time is time.
Old 03-12-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
In the US... there a captain's license is a captain's license... and issued by the USCG. While you can get a sailing endorsement, I don't believe that there are separate "sailboat-specific" captain's licenses. IIRC, time at sea doesn't differentiate between time on sailing craft and power craft.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take