Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2008

Alohaey is on a distinguished road
Possible or unrealistic

Aloha everyone

I'm a 28 swiss male student, currently studying in Tasmania. I'm obsessed with the idea to sail around the world sometime. Since quite a while now I started to make up this plan where I'm going to buy a boat (around 10'000.-/150'000.-) at the end of my degree and sail back to Europe from Tasmania. My partner plus another friend would join me on this trip. One of the most important thing for us is that we are able to buy a boat in Australia preferably in Tasmania and sell it for the same price somewhere in Europe (Spain, France, Italy). All of us have yet no sailing experience at all. However we have a time range of 2 1/2 years at least before the journey starts. I know there are a couple of sailing clubs in town which we would start to join to get our sailing experience and licenses (do we need any and which one's?).
As you can read from this, we all are very new to sailing but there is just this urge to do it. How reasonable do you think this idea is? Is it cracy to think that we can buy a boat in Australia and sell it for the same price in Europe? Is it just rediculous to assume we can gather enough sailing experience in 2 1/2 years to be fit for such a trip? Love to hear your comments.

Thanks heaps in advance
Aloha

PS. The route I was thinking is cruising up the east coast of Australia, passing Papa New Guinea, through the indonesian islands, up the street of Malacca. Then heading over to the southern tip of india and over to the Maldives. From the towards Sudan up the red sea and into the Mediterranean Sea.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-28-2008

chris_gee is on a distinguished road