Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2008

SailKing1 is on a distinguished road
PFD's

I just heard this morning about Mr. Stone and while reading the thread became interested in the question about PFD's being worn down below.

I not sure if this is correct or not but did not feel that was the thread for this discussion.

My question is with limited blue water experiance (2 trips) what is he issue with wearing a auto inflatable PFD down below? Most I have seen are able to fit through the companion way to exit when inflated so having one on to me seems beneficial.

I think it might be a bigger problem to put one on that has already inflated when in a hurry which appears to be the case with that crew.

Again i am a novice in this area but feel it is an important discussion. Some insight from the experianced here greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-09-2008
Francophobe

TheFrog is on a distinguished road
We don't know what the actual issues were for Mr Stone.

However, the issue with a autoinflate PFD below is simply one of buoyancy. If the boat turns turtle you cannot swim out of the inverted hull with the PFD on. If you remove it to swim out then you don't have any flotation once you are outside.

Quote:
Golf is an exercise in Scottish pointlessness for people who are no longer able to throw telephone poles at each other.
-Florence King

To get the most from Sailnet, follow the link in
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
's signature.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 06-09-2008
Best Looking MALE Mod