SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

A question for Puget Sound sailors

3K views 21 replies 7 participants last post by  blt2ski 
#1 ·
Hello!

I'm new to sailing and would like to thank everyone on this board for providing a wealth of information for newbies like me. Some friends and I would like to sail the Catalina 22 from the Everett Marina around Hat Island to Langley, have lunch, then sail back to the Everett Marina. We are planning to leave Everett at 9am and be back by 2pm. Is this a reasonable amount of time?

I've only taken the boat out three times this year and the crew that will be with me has no experience (and this will be on the 4th of July).

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Eric

#3 ·
Depending upon wind etc, it took me in my 30' boat 3-4 hrs to round hat island from the everett marina. I'm not sure how much farther north and east langley is, but personally I would figure being back in everett around 3-4 pm vs 2. Or possibly later if you sail and the wind is down.......

If you can find a boat name slow flight, talk to Skip about how long it takes to get places in a C22. He sails his single handed alot. The folks at milltown sail club should know how to get ahold of him, and have how long it may take too.

Marty

#4 · (Edited)
I see Marty beat me to it... He was sailing Saturday, but not Sunday. Ha!

Anyway,

Ahh... The Langley Dinner Cruise!

That's a real fun thing to do. I used to go on Langley Dinner Cruises when I kept my Catalina 30 in Everett.

So, let's see.....

Depending on where you are at in Everett, it could be 10 - 15 minutes to the breakwater