Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2008

microtonal is on a distinguished road
A question for Puget Sound sailors

Hello!

I'm new to sailing and would like to thank everyone on this board for providing a wealth of information for newbies like me. Some friends and I would like to sail the Catalina 22 from the Everett Marina around Hat Island to Langley, have lunch, then sail back to the Everett Marina. We are planning to leave Everett at 9am and be back by 2pm. Is this a reasonable amount of time?

I've only taken the boat out three times this year and the crew that will be with me has no experience (and this will be on the 4th of July).

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Eric
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-01-2008
the pointy end is the bow

erps will become famous soon enough erps will become famous soon enough
That's just under 20 NM round trip. If you motor at 5 knots, that's 4 hrs travel time.
La Conner, WA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Boating for over 25 years, some of them successfully.
Old 07-01-2008

blt2ski will become famous soon enough
Depending upon wind etc, it took me in my 30' boat 3-4 hrs to round hat island from the everett marina. I'm not sure how much farther north and east langley is, but personally I would figure being back in everett around 3-4 pm vs 2. Or possibly later if you sail and the wind is down.......

If you can find a boat name slow flight, talk to Skip about how long it takes to get places in a C22. He sails his single handed alot. The folks at milltown sail club should know how to get ahold of him, and have how long it may take too.

Marty
Old 07-01-2008