Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2008

WSJR1 is on a distinguished road
First boat for heading off East Coast (VA) 50 Miles & Back

I am fairly new to sailing so I have read the above stickies. But maybe someone could give some insight on this...

I live near the coast of Virginia, about hour and half from Va Beach. I would love to be able to take a sailboat out about 30-50 miles then come back in.

Budget is a concern, so with that in mind what kind of boats would make this trip feasable? With safety and budget in mind?

I don't need anything big I don't think. I wouldnt mind being able to take a few people maybe, but, dont want a bigger boat to just be able to take 6 or so, 4 or less would even be ok.

Also, I am not wanting to go out and just get a boat and make the trip. I would like one capable of it though, so when I am ready I can go...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-08-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
It would help if you said what your budget actually is. There are a lot of boats in the <$20000 range that are more than capable of doing a trip of that kind. Without more information, it is hard to make any relevant suggestions.