Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2008

Adcurium is on a distinguished road
Mooring to a piling

I'm new to sailing, so please forgive me if I'm not even using the correct terms, etc. I recently purchased a sailboat and it is going in the water this week. I recently found out that my 'mooring' at the marina will be a piling. The marina manager told me to 'just throw a rope over'. I'm concerned with a few things, the first being whether or not I will be smashed up against the piling, especially in tough weather. My second concern is if I do get a rope around the piling and tie it to the cleat on my bow, how do I retreive it when I come back in from sailing? Do I need to put a float on the end of it? Should I put TWO ropes around the piling in case one breaks? And I Have soo many more questions! Help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-14-2008
Tartan 27' owner

CalebD will become famous soon enough
A piling or pile is usually a large wooden pole (like a telephone pole) that is rammed into the bottom that comes above the surface of the water. This would not be considered a proper 'mooring' which consists of a large anchor (usually a mushroom type anchor) and chain that attaches to a float or ball that you tie the boat up to (with pennants - lines).
If you are expected to tie up to a piling (and you are not in a slip - eg., at a dock) your main concerns will be tides and currents (if any), chafing of lines (pennants) and your boat banging into it in light weather. In any kind of breeze your boat should trail behind the piling in the direction the wind is blowing unless currents dictate otherwise.
It might help to know what body of water you are on.

Everybody has one: