Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2008

Dman478 is on a distinguished road
Question Seeking boston area dinghy store & launch

Greetings, sailnet'ers.

I've been sailing a Laser since I was 13 years old and I just recently graduated college from a Tufts University near Boston. Now that I have a semi-permanent residence in the Boston area, I've brought my Laser up from home in Jersey - but I'm having a terrible time finding somewhere to store and launch it.

I normally transport my boat on top of my Jeep, which I cannot load or unload by myself. For this reason it's important that I put my boat somewhere within walking distance of a beach, ramp, or floating dock suitable for launching dinghies. The summer is nearly ended, and I'm still sail-less because of this problem, so I'm reaching out everywhere I can.

Do you know of somewhere that suits my needs, or know the proper way to go about finding somewhere that might? Maybe you have some waterfront property and we could arrange an agreement for storage through the summer.

Here are my hopes and expectations...
  • Land or rack storage with nearby beach/ramp/floating dock
  • Reasonable security (people around to deter vandalism/theft)
  • Boston Harbor
  • Less than 45 minute drive from Sommerville

Please, if you have any feedback that could be helpful in my search for easy water access for a dinghy, don't hesitate to respond.

Thank you!

Derrick
- Boston area newbie.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-10-2008
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough