Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2008

Survivor is on a distinguished road
Solo docking question

When it comes to getting out of my slip or solo sailing on the Columbia River I have no problem. However, when I come back to the dock, it's very dicey.

I'm in my upper 60s and can't jump off on to the dock like i used to and I sure don't want to hit the other boat in the slip. If my wife's aboard, she can't help either. The boat has a pretty high freeboard compared to my ability to get off without using steps. I know that there are others in the same boat so what special things have you done to make a safe solo docking without smashing into the dock or another boat in the slip.

BTW, I've been sailing off and on for 30 years but haven't sailed for 4 years because of an illness. I never had problems before because I was quite nimble but now I'm just happy to be back on the water

Harris

1979 Lancer 25

Last edited by Survivor; 08-16-2008 at 11:41 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-16-2008
Banned

tommyt is on a distinguished road
Go to Quantum Sails website and get onto Capt. Jack Klang's tutorials. It is all about spring lines. There is another thread now about docking that covers it as well, but Capt. Jack is the master.

A mid ships cleat or a shroud, a spring line, and you have control. Never have to jump off till the boat is stopped and in control. At 62 there is no way I am going to jump off and try to stop 14,000 lbs.. It would not have worked at 20,30, or 40 either.
Old 08-17-2008

NauticalFishwife is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to NauticalFishwife
Harris,
Wow, can I relate!