Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest > General Discussion (sailing related)
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2008
blue collar cruiser

soulesailor is on a distinguished road
Look, Ma, No Hands!

I've put a lot of effort into getting my boat to sail by itself. This is typically the bulk of my activity while singlehanding. At first I used a simple tiller mounted electric autopilot that came with the boat. It works well but responds so slowly I use it only in benign conditions. It still gets used every now and then.

Wanting a more versatile system that could be used in bigger seas and didn't require electricity (I have only one 60W panel to generate amp hours) I graduated to sheet-to-tiller arrangements as described in John Letcher's self-steering book.

[IMG]DSC01045[/IMG]

This is an extremely simple 'downwind in light airs' set-up. With other points of sail and windspeeds the arrangement of mechanical advantage or disadvantage can get a little cumbersome, leaving a cat's cradle of lines in the cockpit. Still, it's better than nothing and can work quite well.

The basic theory is to tie either your headsail or mainsail to the tiller and use it for input. As your boat tries to round up into the wind the force on your sails change. The force your sail exerts on the line pulling on the tiller usually must be amplified or dampened to pull just the right amount. The tiller goes back to neutral or slight weather helm by tying elastic cord on the other side. The pulling power of the elastic cord must be adjusted also, with cord size or strength, depending on conditions and arrangements.

This summer I added a windvane to my boat. I was fortunate enough to pick it up used for about 22% of the cost brand new. I'm not sure I would pay full price for a brand new windvane they're so expensive. Here is my Fleming Global Minor 301: