SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Delivery Run Question (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/50400-delivery-run-question.html)

bfriberg 01-11-2009 03:09 PM

Delivery Run Question
 
Anyone know how and where I might be able to join someone for a delivery run. This is obviously a follow up to the thread I posted below. I live in Tennessee and would prefer to be on a run that will be going to the Caribbean. I have some sailing experience but would mainly just be and extra set of hands/eyes aboard for whatever.

bubb2 01-11-2009 03:36 PM

Have you any off shore experience, is going to be one of the first questions a delivery skipper will ask. If you do not it will work against you as most skipper's do not want to chance it on a green horn. A delivery is no pleasure cruise, allot of people don't realize that until they are days away from land and want to get off the boat.

bfriberg 01-11-2009 03:46 PM

Not really:
 
Not off shore, just lots of experience on the Tennessee River over the last 13 years. I have sailed small sailboats in Croatia, St. Lucia, and Greece.

Openc 01-11-2009 05:17 PM

Crew Needed
 
My boat is in Myrtle Beach right now but I will be heading to Florida in a month or two. I'm looking for crew. If interested, let me know more about your self and your sailing experience. It will be a combination of inside and outside trips.

bfriberg 01-11-2009 05:32 PM

Experience
 
Growing up we had a small sunfish sailboat that I taught myself how to sail on. Started out sailing with my fathers lawyer on his boat, then just rigged the boat myself one day and took off. Did that all though highschool taking friends out for good times. Since then I have only had the opportunity to sail on vacations and at resorts that have smaller sailboats.

I learned to sail by going through the school of "hard knocks" - broke a keel on a sandbar in the middle of the night, rebuilt it myself, broke a rudder beaching the boat one time. I don't always know what to do, but I definately know what no to do.

Sailed a Catamaran last Summer for several days between the Pitons in St. Lucia.

Physical condition: I would say that I am in top physical condition, swim at least a mile 5 days a week, feel confident in saying I can run with just about anyone.

I'm also a professional whitewater kayaker, paddle for Team Eskimo of Germany on the US Team. Been around water, ropes, and the outdoor elements since I was in 1st grade. Age 30. If you are on facebook you can friend me, Ben Friberg in Chattanooga TN and see lots of pictures of my adventerous lifestyle.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
(c) Marine.com LLC 2000-2012