SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Logging Hours (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/51798-logging-hours.html)

mrwuffles 02-22-2009 10:25 PM

Logging Hours

After looking at some of the basic CG licenses I could get when I get older many of them require a certain amount of logged hours. I know I have tons of hours I could have logged just didn't know how and it would be a shame to look into a certain license and not have enough hours. So, what is the best way to log my boating hours and are they limited to certain types of boating or is it whenever I am operating a boat? Anyone know any good certifications I should get right now? I am still a HS student and really want to set up my future which will probably end up being very nautical. Thanks in advance for the input as I know you guys will provide good answers.

sailingdog 02-22-2009 11:18 PM

If you can get letters certifying your time at sea from the owners of the boats you were on, I believe that is acceptable documentation. Bubb2 or one of the others will be along shortly with a much more definitive answer. :)

mrwuffles 02-22-2009 11:24 PM

Ya but most of my hours are on my own boat how does that work because that is the gray area where some one could just make up hours so how do they know?

STTnBama 02-22-2009 11:45 PM